How a Simple Script Helped Make Me over $1000/month

I’ll be going over how I did it and how you, too, can apply it today

Jason
4 min readNov 8, 2022
Photo by Caspar Camille Rubin on Unsplash

Yes, you heard that correctly — by writing a single-file script and simply leaving it running, I was able to automate a workflow process that was crucial to making money for me without constantly having this looming thought in my head.

Disclaimer: This is by no means 100% passive and may not work for everyone, but hopefully going over my thought process could help inspire you to build your side project/script with a little more incentive (money!)

Motivation

Like a lot of others during these tough economic times, I, too, started looking for ways to earn some extra side income. I’m sure many will not be foreign to platforms that are part of this gig economy, such as Uber Eats where, as a delivery driver, you’d want to grab time-sensitive orders before other competitors get to it first.

At first, I’d use a browser extension such as distill.io. which would reload the page in question every so often (e.g. 1 minute) and then alert you if an element change occurs (i.e. there’s new data => order = money):

--

--